Time Traveler Records Closing At The End Of The Month.

time traveler cuyahoga falls 1

Sad news to report: my beloved Time Traveler Records in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio has lost its lease and, after some 24 years in the same location, will be closing at the end of this month, which, needless to say, is also the end of the year. Time Traveler has long been my favorite store, and I have been fortunate enough to become good friends with the proprietor, Scott Shepard, music encyclopedia and all-around good egg. Simply put, I wouldn’t have the music collection, the music knowledge, or even be the music fan I am today if it wasn’t for Time Traveler and Scott. So naturally, the news of the closing hit me like a ton of bricks when I heard earlier this week.

Time Traveler has of course been immortalized on this blog before, dubious honor that may be. I once did a whole big post on the store, and later a write-up on the great Johnny Winter’s appearance at the store.

time traveler cuyahoga falls 2 time traveler cuyahoga falls 3

Now, I know that a good deal of my posts are found “after the fact,” which is to say, through internet searches and whatnot sometime after I initially post them. That’s okay, I want the right person to find the right post at the right time. But obviously there’s kind of a time limit on this one, with only some 2 1/2 weeks left in the year. But, I’d be remiss in whatever it is I do if I didn’t give some kind of notice here. After all, both previous Time Traveler articles have been very popular on this blog, and much more importantly, Scott’s done a lot for me over the years; I have to say something, though it’s only with a heavy heart.

Time Traveler Cuyahoga Falls 6 Time Traveler Cuyahoga Falls 7

So, here’s the deal: everything is not all doom and gloom. Nothing is set in stone yet, but a new location is actively being sought out. I firmly believe Time Traveler will live on, survive, and thrive in a new spot. But, to do that, there’s a lot of inventory that needs to be sold in order to help fund such an undertaking. So, for the final weeks of Time Traveler at the Cuyahoga Falls location, a 40% off sale is currently going on. This applies to almost everything in the store, with the specific exceptions of new 2014 releases and special orders.

Make no mistake, that’s a phenomenal deal on a lot of great, great music!

So, stop in and pick up some vinyl LPs, CDs, DVDs, Laserdiscs, and more for yourself or to put a dent in your Christmas shopping, or just to say goodbye (temporarily) to local landmark.

time traveler cuyahoga falls 42

(And hey, if you wanted to mention you read about this here, well, I’ll probably be around to hear it. It won’t get you more than 40% off, but it’ll blow my mind nevertheless.)

4 thoughts on “Time Traveler Records Closing At The End Of The Month.

Leave a Reply

