Enigma Theater With Edward St. Pe’ – The Invisible Dr. Mabuse (1999)

enigmatheater1

I’ve talked about about Enigma Theater With Edward St. Pe’ before. Back in April 2013 I looked at two episodes, and then in June ’13, I looked at one more. Enigma Theater was a horror hosted show broadcast on the America One network in the late-90s/early-2000s. Here in Northeast Ohio, it ran on late, late Saturday Nights/early Sunday mornings for at least a year or two, and it’s more or less forgotten nowadays. In fact, my sad lil’ blog is one of the few, if only, places with any info on the show at all (at least that I’ve seen).

To the best of my prior knowledge, I had only recorded three full episodes (Circus Of Fear, The Vampire People and Rocketship X-M) and one partial episode (The Corpse Vanishes) back in the day. Yesterday as I was on a mission for my old budget Dragnet VHS tapes (mission accomplished as if anyone cares) and thus digging around in the appropriate box of old VHS tapes, I came across a tape containing my recordings of Gog, The Testament Of Dr. Mabuse, and The Invisible Dr. Mabuse. The first two movies I remember taping, but The Invisible Dr. Mabuse I have ZERO recollection of recording. The then-current scheduled TV showing must have inspired me to go for a themed thing. I guess I figured it would ostensibly make a good double-bill with The Testament Of Dr. Mabuse, though it kinda doesn’t.

Lo and behold, the recording (which required a bit of tape resuscitating, since I almost certainly hadn’t played it in the last 15 years) yielded a previously unknown-to-me recording of yet another Enigma Theater! Cool winnins! Needless to say, I was not expecting to see this! I love having recorded so much crap years ago that there are things I totally blank upon until re-discovering them.

Then again, I guess it’s not so surprising. I taped a lot of things back then; hundreds of programs. As good as my memory is, it stands to reason that I’m not going to remember every little thing I taped 15 years ago.

enigmatheater2

There’s Edward St. Pe’ himself. And boy, he talks The Invisible Dr. Mabuse up as if it’s the greatest damn thing ever put on film; he seriously says it’s “a four star-rated film” which, man, I’d never say it approaches anywhere near four stars. Granted, I’m not exactly a Dr. Mabuse mega-fan, but I generally have some idea how these types of films are regarded. The Testament Of Dr. Mabuse, yeah, that’s absolutely a classic, but The Invisible Dr. Mabuse? Even the IMDb reviews are lukewarm at best, and if the movie’s gonna get appreciation from the appropriate buffs anywhere, it would be there.

enigmatheater3

There’s the, erm, title screen, obviously. I didn’t watch much beyond this point, opting instead to fast-forward through the rest, because honestly, I don’t care. I’m not sure I really cared all that much back then, either; more likely, I was probably just boosting my horror film collection. Plus, I’m guessing the film reminded me of the obscure titles I’d see listed in the Sinister Cinema catalog; the Sinister Cinema catalogs were things of beauty, and even though I only ordered from them twice (silent westerns no less, and believe it or not, I rescued those two tapes from the same box those Dragnet videos were in), I’d always drool over the new catalogs that occasionally popped up in my mailbox. Figuratively, I mean. But, I digress.

Also, there were approximately 1,462 commercials for that old Monster Ballads CD compilation set fund during the broadcast. Just thought you should know that.

enigmatheater5 enigmatheater4

There, duly notated for all the future lil’ baby childrens of the world.

Leave a Reply

