I Met Johnny Winter At Time Traveler Records Tonight!

Tonight was full of “win.” Seriously, it was just one big giant “win.” Blues legend Johnny Winter, one of the greatest musicians ever, the Johnny Winter was live and in person at Time Traveler Records tonight! He signed autographs! He took pictures! He talked with people! And he couldn’t have been any nicer during all of it! Does it get any cooler than that?! No way can it get cooler than that.

johnnywinter1

Of course, it wasn’t a spur-of-the-moment surprise, we knew about this event last month. I, my brother, the loyal customers and of course the owner of Time Traveler, Scott Shepard, we all did our part to spread the word. This was pretty much a once-in-a-lifetime event! A music legend, at the store that’s basically in my backyard and that I’m at a good part of the week anyway? No way in hell was I missing this! And I wasn’t the only one, because a lot of very cool people turned out for Johnny Winter’s Time Traveler appearance. The shot above was taken when it was coming time for Mr. Winter’s tour bus to pull in (rest assured, there were far more people inside than outside), and man, you can’t believe the anticipation. I was so jazzed last night, and that anticipation only built as today went on, as you may well imagine. Fortunately, it was a nice day, a little cloudy but fairly warm.

johnnywinter3

There’s the bus when it first pulled in. Johnny was set to appear from 5 PM to 6 PM, and he got there right on time (actually, a little earlier). I took as many pictures beforehand as I could because, hey, I didn’t know if I was going to be allowed pics on the bus. I didn’t need to worry, because Johnny and the driver that was handling all this were very accommodating as far as photographs went.

johnnywinter4

Basically, Johnny stayed on the bus, we formed a line, and one-by-one went in to meet him. This is one of those beforehand-pics, a super-candid exclusive shot, because again, I didn’t know if I was going to be allowed a close-up picture with him or not.

johnnywinter5

My Brother went ahead of me, and got an actual Blues guitar autographed! According to mah Bro, Johnny was actually impressed by the guitar, asking some of the finer details about it, and even said it was pretty. Too cool!

johnnywinter6

I handed the driver my camera, and he took pics of me meeting the man himself. I brought a vinyl copy of Johnny Winter, his second album and Columbia debut, to get signed.

johnnywinter7

There’s your Northeast Ohio Video Hunter with the legend himself! He couldn’t have been any nicer, and while I only brought the one album to have signed, others brought multiple things, and he signed them all, completely free of charge. And, if someone didn’t have a record or CD, there were free glossy photos you could have autographed. Fact of the matter is that not every artist would go to those lengths to make sure everyone leaves happy, and of course I already highly respected Johnny Winter as it is, but that just impressed me all the more.

One thing I wish I would have brought but just didn’t have was a Johnny Winter 8-track. I got the idea a few nights ago, which by then was too late to get one off Ebay, and I didn’t come across any around town. Why an 8-track? Sure, they’re loooong obsolete, but they have a great solid, retro feel to them. Maybe I’m not explaining that well, I know, but something about an autographed Johnny Winter 8-track just seems so right. No matter, because the album I did get signed is beyond awesome.

johnnywinter11

There’s a Time Traveler “cast photo” with Johnny Winter! From left-to-right: Mr. Winter (obviously!), Scott, me, Bald Dave (he introduces himself as “Steve”), my Brother, and a cool guy I just met tonight, Mark Shapiro.

johnnywinter12

Fall evenings get dark quickly, and there’s a shot of the bus outside as night was falling. I love the look of the nighttime sky in the background.

johnnywinter13

It really does get dark quickly this time of year (as you may well imagine), but the weather was so nice that a lot of us wound up congregating outside. There was a real party atmosphere, and why shouldn’t there be? We all just met Johnny Winter!

johnnywinter8 johnnywinter9

There’s my Brother with his newly-signed Johnny Winter guitar. The thing is really, really badass.

johnnywinter15 johnnywinter17

And there’s my signed Johnny Winter album. Way too cool. At one point, almost certainly long ago, “Paige” decided to helpfully sign it, too.

What a night! Johnny Winter has a show at Tangier Restaurant & Cabaret later, which a lot of the Time Traveler guys are going to. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to make it to that, but man, it was too cool of Mr. Winter to stop by beforehand. I can’t thank him enough for the experience, and I know I’m not alone in expressing gratitude.

The Official Johnny Winter Website: http://www.johnnywinter.net/

Time Traveler is located at 2615 State Road, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio 44223 and they can be reached at 330-923-4408.

 

2 thoughts on “I Met Johnny Winter At Time Traveler Records Tonight!

Leave a Reply

